Our National Landscapes

National Landscapes (previously called Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty) are designated by Natural England  (GOV.UK). Here are details of National Landscapes in Tonbridge and Malling:

Kent Downs

Part of the Kent Downs falls within Tonbridge and Malling. This includes the following parishes: Plaxtol, Shipbourne, Borough Green, Trottiscliffe, Birling, Wouldham, Aylesford, Hildenborough, Ightham, Wrotham, Ryarsh, Snodland and Burham.

High Weald

A small part of this National Landscape falls within the borough of Tonbridge and Malling to the south of Tonbridge.

We have adopted the Highweald Management Plan 2024 -2029 which now forms part of the our Development Plan, used to help guide and inform planning decisions.

Old Chalk New Downs project

The Old Chalk New Downs project  is a heritage lottery funded partnership project hosted by Kent County Council.

How are National Landscapes managed?

National Landscape management plans provide a vision of the future of the landscape and address key issues for the next 20 years.