Kent has three tiers of local government:

  • county council
  • district and borough councils
  • parish and town councils

Each provide different services to our local community. This page explains each council's responsibilities.

Tonbridge and Malling Borough Council

We provide these services:

Our sports centres and swimming pools are operated by tmactive.

There are 12 district and borough councils in Kent. You can find the areas that these councils cover at Find your local authority (GOV.UK).

Kent County Council

Services provided by the county council include:

Parish and town councils

Parish and town councils are elected local authorities. Tonbridge and Malling borough is made up of 26 parish councils and one town council.

They are responsible for:

  • allotments
  • bus shelters
  • community centres
  • village halls

Find your parish or town council.