Leybourne Primary School claims the trophy in Kwik Cricket Festival

Last Updated:

Last Updated: 09 Jul 2019 11:08am

Leybourne Primary School has triumphed at the Tonbridge and Malling Kwik Cricket Festival 2019, which was hosted by Kings Hill Cricket Club on Tuesday 2 July.

Around 100 young cricketers made up 9 teams from 6 primary schools across the borough this year with every team playing each other for points leading to an overall winner based on the highest scoring school.  The festival was organised by Tonbridge & Malling Borough Council in partnership with Kent Community Cricket as part of a national programme held every year to encourage more schools to offer cricket as part of the PE curriculum and provide a platform for pupils to showcase their cricketing skills.

St. Margaret’s Primary School Year 3 and 4 Team won the Most Sporting Team Award for their positive sporting behaviour and considerations towards others throughout the competition.

Mayor of Tonbridge and Malling, Cllr Jill Anderson, came to watch the teams playing in the early afternoon and presented trophies to the winning teams on the day.

A team from Leybourne Primary School will go on to represent the Malling area in the county final on Thursday 11 July in Canterbury and Woodlands Junior School will represent the Tonbridge area.

Ten 14 to 16 year olds who are currently taking part in a Young Cricket Leaders Programme, as well as some of the borough’s Community Cricket Coaches, also attended the event to help out with scoring and umpiring of all the matches, proving invaluable to many of the schools.

Mayor, Cllr Jill Anderson, says: “Congratulations to Leybourne Primary School for their most impressive win. It was an enjoyable afternoon and it has been such a pleasure to watch the students playing with such enthusiasm.  I would like to thank all the young cricket leaders and the coaches involved for their exceptional scoring and umpiring efforts and the staff at Kings Hill Cricket Club for hosting such a fabulous event again this year.  The very best of luck to the winning school at the County finals in Canterbury!”